Uncategorized

Using the redneck camera without an internet connection

As I plan to take my redneck camera to some lakes, and watch the camera from my phone, I will not be able to have the pi connected to a network. First, I tried creating an access point on the pi using this tutorial, but this creates some problems:

  • It creates a bridge from wifi to the ethernet connection. Which means it requires a cable. Forget it.
  • The pi does not have a real-time clock. As it would self-host the connection, it would have no way to define time and therefore, the pictures would come out with all names garbled.

Instead, I set up the personal access on my phone. It solves both these problems, and I can just point the browser to the pi. The only problem is that I need to know the ip address of the pi beforehand. Apart from that, works like a charm!

Standard

Leave a Reply

