Computing Science, Unix

Mining bitcoins on a solar powered Raspberry Pi 2: part 4

Update: Here are the links for Part1Part 2Part 3, and how to run the Pi from a battery

Well, turns out that most of my problems were related to the fact that I live in Germany, the weather is crap, and there’s not much sun. But wait! I live in Germany!  According to Fox News, it’s the sunniest country in the planet! Seriously! Have a look at that! Fox News about solar power in Germany


Typical Germany sunny day.

So, instead of using my balcony, which is pretty much useless, I went to my building’s garage, where I can try stuff a bit longer.

And…. It works! With a small caveat. Turns out that my wifi router is too far from the garage. The signal just can’t get there.

But as a good nerd, I have my stash of equipment. And I happened to have those: a Powerline adapter, and a Fonera Simpl lying around.

So the distance problem is basically solved!  And we have liftoff!!!

Standard

5 thoughts on “Mining bitcoins on a solar powered Raspberry Pi 2: part 4

  1. Pingback: Mining bitcoins on a solar-powered Raspberry Pi 2: Part 2 | Linux, Technology and Beer

  2. Pingback: Mining bitcoins on a solar-powered Raspberry Pi 2: first steps | Linux, Technology and Beer

  3. Pingback: Mining bitcoins on a solar-powered Raspberry Pi 2: Part 3 | Linux, Technology and Beer

  4. Pingback: It’s ridiculously easy to run a Raspberry pi from a battery | Linux, Technology and Beer

  5. Pingback: Mining bitcoins on a solar powered Raspberry Pi 2: part 5 | Linux, Technology and Beer

Leave a Reply

